Page 1 of 6 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Why Charging Money for Disclosure-Related Information is Wrong

Retired Member
    Thanks

Why Charging Money for Disclosure-Related Information is Wrong

I’m rather new to the TOT forums, and the disclosure community, but I feel that the issue of charging money or putting up a paywall for disclosure-related information demands further discourse. I’m going to leave names out of this post, as it’s not my intention to levy personal attacks upon anyone, but the actions of public figures requires public examination.

Any representative of truth, who attempts to stifle conversation or deflect valid discussion, by unfairly demonizing their opposition as negative or venomous, should be viewed with intense scrutiny. Alternatively, anyone who is legitimately attempting to start a flame war, openly insult and name-call, or be disruptive should be handled by the forum moderators. From what I’ve seen thus far, the TOT moderators do an excellent job with this, and I appreciate their dedication to keeping the forum clean.

However, when disclosure representatives sardonically respond to valid questions with “face-palm” emoticons, and state that it’s not possible to have a public discussion anymore, then I believe the discerning public should be extra careful with their information.

Charging for Disclosure

I have noticed that there is a growing voice, on this forum and elsewhere, advocating against putting disclosure-related information behind a paywall. I believe that charging money for this kind of information only harms a community that is interested in truth, and that we should openly oppose those who operate this way. There are numerous reasons why this information should be free.