Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: John McAfee and Ad Hominem attacks

Retired Member United States
    Thanks
    Thanked 7,661 Times in 1,264 Posts

John McAfee and Ad Hominem attacks

This is from a post on Gio's thread

Quote Originally posted by Shadowself View Post
    MacAfee..,well I wouldn't put any weight in what this guy says as he is currently under investigation himself.

Source: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TjBgNwAVLWQ

John McAfee Accused of Rape and Murder in Explosive New Doc

http://www.thedailybeast.com/article...e-new-doc.html
    I am curious about how much weight to put on John McAfee's demonization. Of course I have no personal knowledge of him but I have thought he sounds as though he understands something of "cyber security"? In GENERAL, it seems quite easy to destroy people's reputations. This is especially the case when a person steps outside the fence of socially agreeable behavior? I did not want to derail Gio's thread but I am really curious about John McAfee AND the way that people paint other people negatively and then others accept without challenge. I think that this kind of judgement is ad hominem.

AND who are the real losers when we evaluate others this way?

ad ho·mi·nem
    ˌad ˈhämənəm/
    adverb & adjective
    adverb: ad hominem; adjective: ad hominem

(of an argument or reaction) directed against a person rather than the position they are maintaining.
    "vicious ad hominem attacks"
    relating to or associated with a particular person.
    "the office was created ad hominem for Fenton"

What does any one else have to comment on the topic??? Just sharing what I found:

Steve Morgan
    How I Hacked John McAfee And Got Away With His True Life Story
    September 26, 2016